Explore mysteries along the Schuylkill River Trail with a do-it-yourself cycling tour
Who dumped the concrete here?
SRG Offices at 140 College Drive are shown as a Gas House on the 1877 Montgomery County atlas. Prior to Pottstown's purchase, It was owned by the Philadelphia Electric Company who would periodically alter the building to suit the needs. Since there were no other recorded uses of the property, the concrete was most likely dumped there when the Gas Works was reconditioned.
Why are industrial remnants by the river?
This is one of many industrial remnants found along Pottstown's riverbanks. During its days as an industrial powerhouse, Bethlehem Steel, forges, furnaces, and Firestone called the Borough home.
When was the park installed?
The park was established in the 2000s from a reclaimed riparian, or river bank, industrial site. The green pavilion was added in 2006. The newest pavilion was added in 2018.
What is this mound?
The mound is actually a berm surrounding a lagoon which impounds runoff from what was at one time a hub of heavy industry bordered by the Reading RR (now Norfolk Southern) and the Pennsylvania RR (now the SRT) railroads from Riverfront Park in Pottstown to Grosstown Road in Stowe.
What happened here?
The site supported a 19th and 20th century maze of industrial railway trackage serving numerous iron and steel works, foundries, casting and milling facilities, and other heavy industries.
What is a "brownfield"?
A brownfield is a property in which the expansion, redevelopment, or reuse may be complicated by the presence of a hazardous substance, pollutant, or contaminant. It is estimated that there are more than 450,000 brownfields in the U.S.
How did this site become a brownfield?
Coal and raw materials were brought in and stored. Ash and slag sediment (byproduct of burning coal) were disposed of here over many decades. The soil and groundwater were left significantly contaminated. Former industrial sites such as this, which communities hope to redevelop, are called "brownfields".